WEST ALLEGHENY SCHOOL DISTRICT

MINUTES OF THE REORGANIZATION MEETING OF THE BOARD OF SCHOOL DIRECTORS

December 6, 2023

1. Call to Order

The West Allegheny Board of School Directors met for Reorganization on Wednesday, December 6, 2023, in the District Office Board Room located at Wilson Elementary School. The purpose of the meeting was board reorganization for the upcoming year, and any other matters that may properly be brought before the Board.

Since a quorum was present, Mr. Robert Ostrander, President, called the meeting to order at 6:07 P.M., followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

2. Public Comment

No comments.

3. Recognition of Newly Elected Board Members

Mr. Andrews administered the oath of office to the Newly Elected Board Members:

Robert Ostrander Debbie Mirich Vicki Bozic Steven Pons Steve Psomas Seth Tomei

4. Roll Call of Directors

Present - George Bartha Vicki Bozic

Todd Kosenina Debbie Mirich
Robert Ostrander Steven Pons
Steve Psomas Tracy Pustover

Seth Tomei

Also Present - Mr. William Andrews, Solicitor

Dr. Jerri Lynn Lippert, Superintendent

Dr. Chris Shattuck, Assistant Superintendent

Dr. Shauna Nelson, Assistant to the Superintendent

Mrs. Tammy Adams, Assistant to the Superintendent

Mr. George M. Safin, Business Manager Mrs. Alyssa Athanas, Board Secretary

Other staff members

5. Election of Temporary Chairperson

At the request of Mr. Ostrander, Mr. Andrews served as "Temporary Chairperson."

a. Nomination and Election of President

Mr. Andrews requested a motion top open the nominations for "President."

On a motion by Mr. Bartha, seconded by Mrs. Mirich, and unanimously carried, it was moved to open the nominations for President.

Mrs. Mirich nominated Mr. Ostrander as candidate for President.

On a motion by Mr. Bartha, seconded by Mrs. Mirich, and unanimously carried, it was moved to close nominations for President and a unanimous ballet be cast in favor of Mr. Ostrander for the office of President for the 2024 year.

b. Nomination and Election of Vice President

Mr. Ostrander requested a motion to open nominations for "Vice President."

On a motion by Mrs. Mirich, seconded by Mr. Bartha, and unanimously carried, it was moved to open the nominations for Vice President.

Mrs. Mirich nominated Mrs. Pustover as candidate for Vice President.

On a motion by Mr. Bartha, seconded by Mrs. Mirich, and unanimously carried, it was moved to close nominations for Vice President and a unanimous ballet be cast in favor of Mrs. Pustover for the office of Vice President for the 2024 year.

6. Newly elected President and Vice President Assumes Chair

Mr. Ostrander and Mrs. Pustover both thanked the Board and assumed their chairs as President and Vice President.

7. Meeting Schedule Approval

On a motion by Mrs. Mirich, seconded by Mr. Bartha, and unanimously carried, it was moved to approve the meeting schedule as presented for the coming year. (A copy of the schedule is attached to the official minutes.)

8. Newspaper Approval

On a motion by Mr. Bartha, seconded by Mrs. Pustover, and unanimously carried, it was moved to approve the following newspapers for legal publications during the year 2024:

The Allegheny Times
The Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

9. Appoint Representatives

Mr. Ostrander announced that representatives would be appointed to the following organizations moving forward:

South Hills Area School District Association (SHASDA)
Parkway West Career and Technical Center
Western Allegheny Community Library
West Allegheny Foundation
Athletic Hall of Fame
Wellness and Safe Schools

10. Appoint Legislative Chairperson

Mr. Ostrander moved to appoint Dr. Nelson as the legislative chairperson for 2024.

11. Appoint Solicitor

On a motion by Mr. Bartha, seconded by Mrs. Pustover, and unanimously carried, it was moved to appoint Andrews & Price as the school district solicitor for 2024.

Mr. Andrews thanked the Board for the appointment to continue as solicitor to the district.

12. Adjournment

On a motion by Mrs. Mirich, seconded by Mr. Bartha, and unanimously carried, it was moved to adjourn the meeting at 6:17 P.M.

| Robert Ostrander, Board President |
|-----------------------------------|
| |
| Alyssa Athanas, Board Secretary |